Odd Sights

#The100DayProject

Goodness, you see some odd sights when living on the road, and sometimes, despite it not being normal in your eyes, you just have to accept that this is how things are done in a foreign land.

As we made our way south through Italy, we stopped over in a service station. Now no chance of us both leaving the van together due to crime rates in this area, so we went in relay. Nicola first of course. I’m a gent after all.

As I was waiting by the van, stretching the various parts of my body (ie most of it) that had seized up, I noticed what looked like a silver Delorean slowly making its way towards me.

I was however shocked, as it got closer, to realise it was in fact a hearse, complete with coffin and floral memorials along the side.

As they parked up a few spaces along from me, both the driver and passenger stepped out and casually made their way over to the service station, leaving whoever was in the box waiting in the car park. About 10 minutes later they returned, coffees in hand, got in and drove off. We would later spot them in our rear view mirrors, but not for long, as they blazed past us at well over 100mph – clearly the hearses in Italy have a super charge button.

Perhaps their coffee stop had put them somewhat behind and now were under pressure to complete their delivery.

Strange indeed.

Until next time .. Happy Pixels

Help Support My Work 

Enjoy this content. You can help support my work by purchasing a print here or if you like leave a small donation here. You can also follow my journey via my newsletter by signing up here. By the way, all of my prints are now offered on a Pay What You Want price basis. 

Leave a comment