The week that was (and the start of something big)

#The100DayProject

So I’ve decided to try and give my creative engine a much needed shot in the arm. Actually, both arms. Throw in an extra shot in the leg too for good measure.

I’ve spoken at length how being creative helps keep my mind in check, and also how living a nomadic life hasn’t always aligned with the most creative bouts in my life.

I’ve been reading about the 100DayProject and thought it may be good to join, and of course with me there’s no point in doing things by halves.

So for the next 100 days I’m committing to the following 3 creative pursuits

  • A blog post a day on here. Sometimes it will be technical, others the theory and journey of this incredible and often frustrating pursuit of photography. I’d like to try and piece these posts together at the end of the 100 days along with images to create a photo zine.
  • So of course to go along with the writing, committing to making one image a day. I guess these will often be moments captured with the iPhone or the X100T, but perhaps on other days I’ll get a chance to spend some quality time in the field with the big boy camera. Honestly, it doesn’t make the how, more important the why.
  • And last but in no means least, is to create a video on our travel channel each day for the next 100 days. Goodness, even typing that makes me quite nervous. What gives me some kind of hope in sticking to this is that I once completed a #30DaysCreative on my no mostly gathering dust, YouTube channel.

And so this is day 1 …. just 99 to go.

A few bits that kept me occupied or pricked my interest over the past 7 days.

  • The video clip I submitted for a potential larger scale advertisement was indeed chosen and will hopefully be available at some point in Q1 of this year. I even got some cold hard cash. Man, it sure does feel good to get paid for something you did from a creative side of things.
  • Talked a little about how creativity, and photography especially, helps calm my racing mind and goes towards improving my overall mental state.
  • A few images while waiting for our train in Bilbao.
  • Reminded myself that sometimes I’m exactly where I need to be.
  • Sent out my latest photography newsletter. As a reminder, you can sign up for free here.

Help Support My Work 

Enjoy this content. You can help support my work by purchasing a print here or if you like leave a small donation here

Until next time .. Happy Pixels … 

Leave a comment