There’s a Hoopoe loose about this hooose

Sitting here in the shade of the awning, the temperatures today some of the hottest we have seen so far in Greece. While the UK freezes back home, I hear the Acropolis in Athens had to be closed due to the heat. We are currently about 100km from Athens, due to visit after the weekend. Fingers crossed things drop a tad as is predicted. And yes, we know it gets hot in these parts, but this early in the year is pretty much unheard of.

It’s a much to do about nothing kinda day. We have extended our time at the campsite until Friday when the temperatures drop a notch. The van is parked under the shade of a couple of pine trees, a small breeze blowing in from the sea. It almost seems manageable until you step outside as I did earlier, in search for some supplies.

Blistering, energy sapping, sweat inducing heat.

Using the time to get on with some writing, a few more common birds scuttling about in the dust. Collared dove. Beautiful creatures, often overlooked. A tree sparrow or two. Even a couple of Jays flitting from tree to tree. Never too keen to show themselves.

And then I spot something out of the corner of my eye, drilling almost mechanically into the dirt. A Hoopoe – a stunning bird, and something I’ve not seen since our time in South Africa. I’m pretty sure I also saw one back in England, and while they are not breeding there, every year around 100 overcook their landing spot in mainland Europe and end up in southern Blighty – poor things.

Watching it has made me want to dust down my 400mm lens and head out to do a spot of wildlife photography, although in this heat I may need to consider a nocturnal session.

Until next time .. Happy Pixels …

Help Support My Work 

Enjoy this content. You can help support my work by purchasing a print here or if you like leave a small donation here. You can also follow my journey via my newsletter by signing up here. By the way, all of my prints are now offered on a Pay What You Want price basis. 

Leave a comment